Project of the Week: Browning “Buckmark” Inspired Wedding Logo

This week I had the pleasure of working on a custom wedding logo with a bride whose fiance loves to hunt. She wanted to do a Browning “Buckmark” inspired wedding logo to surprise her fiance! I was excited to receive this request, because I’ve actually been playing around with the idea of doing a deer-based wedding logo for quite some time.

Browning Buckmark Wedding Logo IdeasThe first round of ideas I sent her used deer motifs derived from the buckmark and adapted to varying degrees. (I thought it would be cute to add a matching doe to make a deer couple.) In this group, I particularly like 3, 4 and 6 – she liked number 4, but wanted the buck to be less obvious, perhaps in outline.

The challenge was this: make the buck element visible enough that her husband could see and enjoy it, but understated enough that most guests wouldn’t immediately realize there was a deer in the logo! Appropriate enough when you consider the importance of camouflage and perception in hunting…

Browning Buckmark Inspired Wedding Logo Ideas 2The next round of ideas I sent definitely played down the deer aspect. I made the deer an outline, rather than filled, and in some of these I turned his antlers into more abstract swirls.In the column all the way to the right, I tried to sort of “hide” the deer among the swirls of the script initials. These were the ones she liked.

So after a little more input, this is what we have to the date of this writing:

Browning Buckmark inspired wedding logo, final

As you can see, the deer is definitely there, but you have to look for it among the more classic script and serif monogram. The colors and design aren’t finalized yet, but she’s happy and wants to use this very personal and unique wedding logo on her cake, invitations and other wedding decor! Thanks Gina, it was a challenge, but so fun!

This custom wedding logo was fondly designed by Colleen of Forever Logos.

About Colleen

Hi! I'm a self-taught graphic artist who also loves math, the outdoors, and pop science publications. I design special event, wedding, and professional logos.
This entry was posted in Featured Logos. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Project of the Week: Browning “Buckmark” Inspired Wedding Logo

  1. anna patterson says:

    could you maybe place the buck and doe to where they make a heart my fiance and i have the browning tattoos and when he holds me they make a heart and were going with the camo themed wedding (with some pink and purple and fuscia and orange and yellow lol) so i would love to see some ideas!!

  2. Carla McNeese says:

    I would also like to know if you could do one for me that has the buck and doe where they make a heart and my first initial is C, his is T and our last name is J. This is so great, can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  3. emily etling says:

    I’m in love how can I get this???

  4. amandak says:

    ive been looking all over for browning wedding invitations how can i get some?

  5. Colleen says:

    Hello all – I’m overwhelmed by the amount of interest in this design! I had no idea the buckmark would be so popular for weddings. (I’ll contact you all individually. 🙂 )

  6. Jennifer Maczynski says:

    I have been looking for an elegant buck and doe wedding invitation set. I love your designs. My wedding is July 13th 2013. I would love to get in touch with you about your buck and doe designs!!!!
    Thank you so much,
    Jennifer

  7. I would like to know more about this logo. If you could please contact me about it.

    Thank you

  8. Myron says:

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

  9. Hello, of course this article is really pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.

  10. Lori Laber says:

    I need these 🙂 I need to know a price. Please.

  11. genea and Douglas says:

    My fiancee and I absolutely love this.

Leave a Reply

